Chapter Awards

Landers/Carbrey Spirit of Volunteerism Award

The Carol A. Landers Spirit of Volunteerism Award was first awarded in 2000, in remembrance of Carol Landers, a former chapter president. This memorial award recognizes volunteerism and community service — two of Carol’s passions.

The Edward J. Carbrey Jr. Scholarship was established in 1996 and was awarded to deserving undergraduate students in technical communications programs. It was created as a tribute to Edward J. Carbrey, Jr. (1924–2018), a long-time Chapter member, Council member, and STC Fellow.

In 2004 these awards were combined to formally create the Landers/Carbrey Spirit of Volunteerism award.

Past Landers/Carbrey Award Winners

Sharon Metzger, 2020

Paul Duarte, 2018

Emily Alfson, 2017

Kurt Kroeber, 2015

Emily Alfson, 2014

Pamela Sarantos, 2013

Richard Lippincott and William Gruener, 2012

Edward Marshall and Karen Giventer, 2011

Lynda Schiff and Linda Fritz, 2010

Patty Morin and Michael Ball, 2009

Greg Bartlett, 2008

Steve Jong and Neil Perlin, 2007

Ellen Lidington and Taryn Light, 2006

Lori Gillen and John Garison, 2005

Joan Wotkowitz and Marguerite Krupp, 2004

Past Landers Award Winners

Barbara Casaly, 2003

Jon Baker, 2002

Rich Feitelberg, 2001

Alma Nahigan, 2000

Barbara Veneri, 1999

Past Carbrey Award Winners

Susan Westington, 1997-1998

Diane Moretti, 1996